The third ODI match between India and England on Saturday was filled with drama and controversy. Fans will remember him for two reasons – the controversial but legal England outing of Charlie Dean by Deepti Sharma and Golan Goswami’s retirement from international cricket. In the midst of this, another popular cricketer was also popular: R Ashwin. We detail what happened in the match and the controversy surrounding it:
What happened in the Saturday game?
India beat England by 16 points in the third and final round of an international match to win the group 3-0. India, while batting first, scored a poor score of 169. India continued to lose wickets making them this low. Multi-goal Deepti Sharma scored 68 out of 106 balls unbeaten.
The beating order in England fell apart easily. They were reeling at 65 for 7, but the team was able to make it to 103 for 8 with the efforts of Charlie Dean. Dean scored the highest goals with 47, while captain Amy Jones contributed 28. But their efforts could not lead the team to victory as India managed to limit England to 153.
Dean, who raised England’s hopes, was sent off by Deepti Sharma when she was fighting in 47 strokes.
Dean and Freya Davies were on the court with England. Dean was at the non-racing end when Sharma was on her stride. Before releasing the ball, Sharma noticed that Dean had already left the crease. Sharma took advantage of this and took off the bail.
Why was the internet divided?
Many people, including former cricketer Virender Siwag, have stood by the Indian team while some like Stewart Broad have criticized this kind of runaway being called ‘mancad’. The internet was also divided over dismissal. While some supported the Indian team, others supported the English side.
– virendersehwag September 24, 2022
I find the Mankad discussion really interesting. Lots of opinions from both sides. Personally, I don’t want to win a match like this, and I’m so glad other people feel differently https://t.co/BItCNJZqYB
– Stuart Broad (@StuartBroad8) September 24, 2022
What is “maneuvering”?
The term means that a bowler can run out of hitting at a non-attacker’s end if he tries to get out of the crease before the player releases the ball. Oftentimes hitters on the non-attacking end are seen exiting the tuck long in advance as a start, to run between the hitters.
The name was coined after former Indian cricketer Mulvantri Himatlal Mankad, who knocked out Australian Bill Brown at the striker’s end when he left the tuck before releasing the ball, in 1948.
What does the ICC law say about such exhaustion?
This sparked controversy, but it is perfectly legal under the rules of the International Criminal Court. Recently, the International Criminal Court, while amending the Terms of Play, has moved these types of dismissals from “unfair play” to “running out.”
MCC Code 41.16.1 states: “If a non-attacking player is away from his/her home grounds at any time from the moment the ball enters play until the moment when the player is ordinarily expected to release the ball, the attacker may run out.”
What do experts say about this incident?
Shafir Tarapor, former ICC ruling, said, “Although the law allows such separation, I personally believe the Indian player could have avoided it. If you look closely at the separation video, you will notice that Sharma has deliberately stopped. Umpire at the time was about to declare it a dead ball, but he didn’t.” “I think such expulsions go against the spirit of the game,” he added.
Former India captain Anjum Chopra feels the all-skilled Deepti Sharma has all the ‘rights’ to beat Charlie Dean during his third ODI match against England at Lords Stadium on Saturday.
Why was #Ashwin popular
Indian bowler Ravichandran Ashwin used this ‘stunt’ to send Jos Buttler out in the 2019 IPL tournament. As per the Laws of the Game, the third referee declared Butler out, but this ejection always raised eyebrows as it is considered against the spirit of the game. After Saturday’s incident, Aswin went viral on Twitter.
He tweeted, “Why the hell are you heading to Ashwin? Tonight is about another bowling champ @Deepti_Sharma06.”
Why the hell are you turning towards Ashwin? Tonight is about another bowling champion Tweet embed 🤩👏
– Ashwin 🇮🇳 (@ashwinravi99) September 24, 2022
That’s what people said about running out?
It is a legal separation. The only thing going against the spirit of the game here is the hitter trying to get an unfair advantage. Well done, Deepti Sharma. #EngvInd
Mazhar Arshad September 24, 2022
Running out of a non-batting end without warning at Lords is exactly how I would have loved India to win.
The ultimate legend, Deepti Sharma.
– Abhishek Mukherjee (@ovshake42) September 24, 2022
Run out while backing at the non-striking end of the House of Cricket – Lords by Deepti Sharma. pic.twitter.com/WbLzSJVQ3h
– Jones. (@CricCrazyJohns) September 24, 2022