Launches: Expedition 67 takes off to the International Space Station

Launches: A man in a space suit looks through the window of a spacecraft.
At the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, NASA astronaut Frank Rubio performs an initial check-up on the Soyuz MS-22 spacecraft. Subsequently, Rubio blasted off with fellow Russian Space Agency “Roscosmos” cosmonauts Sergei Prokopyev and Dmitry Petlin on September 21, 2022. This launch is, in this case, a 6-month mission to the International Space Station. Read more in the launches. Image via NASA/Viktor Zelentsov.

Launches: Expedition 67 takes off to the International Space Station

A Russian Soyuz spacecraft carrying an American astronaut and two cosmonauts made a flight today (Wednesday, September 21, 2022) bound for the International Space Station on Expedition 67. The flight, in the end, came after a six-month delay. Additionally, NASA announced the successful launch via the ISS Blog:

NASA astronaut Frank Rubio, Roscosmos cosmonaut Sergei Prokopyev and Dmitry Petlin are safely in orbit aboard the Soyuz MS-22 spacecraft after launch at 9:54 a.m. ET (13:54 UTC) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan (6:54). Evening Baikonur time).

NASA reported that three hours later, the craft docked with the International Space Station at 1:06 p.m. ET (17:06 UTC). Now, with three other space travelers on the station, the orbital population is 10:

Once at the station, the trio will be joined by Expedition 67 commander Oleg Artemyev, astronauts Denis Matveev and Sergey Korsakov of Roscosmos, as well as NASA astronauts Bob Heinz and Kjell Lindgren and Jessica Watkins and European Space Agency astronaut Samantha Christofority. Rubio, Prokopiev and Petlin will spend six months aboard the orbiting laboratory.

Currently, the three newest crew members entered the station at 3:34 PM EDT (19:34 UTC). Later, the International Space Station will return to a crew of seven by the end of the month, with three astronauts returning to Russia. NASA said:

Roscosmos cosmonauts Oleg Artemyev, Denis Matveev and Sergey Korsakov will return to Earth on September 29 aboard the Soyuz MS-21 spacecraft, currently docked at the space station, for a parachute-assisted landing on the Kazakh steppes.

Synopsis: An American cosmonaut and two Russian cosmonauts are now aboard the International Space Station after their launch on the morning of September 21, 2022.

Leave a Comment