Overwatch 2 SMS Protect: What is it? Why is Blizzard asking for my phone number?

When Monitor 2 replace the original Note and watch On October 4, players will be asked to associate a phone number with their Battle.net accounts. If you don’t, you won’t be able to play Observation 2 – Even if you have already purchased Note and watch. The same two-factor step, called SMS Protect, will also be used on everyone call of duty modern warfare 2 Accounts when this game is launched, and new Call of Duty: Modern Warfare accounts.

Blizzard Entertainment announces the launch of SMS Protect and other safety measures previous to Note and watch 2release. Blizzard said it implemented these controls because it wanted to “protect the integrity of the game and promote positive behavior in Monitor 2. ”

Monitor 2 It is a free game, unlike its predecessor. Without SMS protection, Blizzard concluded that there is no impediment to toxic players or trolls creating a new account if an existing account is penalized. Thus, SMS Protect associates this account with something of value – in this case the player’s mobile phone.

Why is Blizzard asking for my phone number?

SMS Protect is a security feature that has two purposes: to keep players responsible for what Blizzard calls “disruptive behavior,” and to protect accounts if they are hacked. It requires everything Monitor 2 Players to attach a unique phone number to their accounts. Blizzard said SMS Protect will target cheaters and harassers; If an account gets banned, it will be difficult for them to get back to it Monitor 2. You can’t just enter any old phone number – you must have access to a phone that receives text messages to that number to get into your account.

Monitor 2 Principal software engineer Bill Warnick Forbes said That, even if the accounts are no longer associated with them Note and watchFund Price – Because the game is now free – Blizzard still wants players to make an “investment” in supporting a safe game.

“The main idea behind SMS Protect is to have an investment on behalf of the owner of that account and to add some restrictions or limitations behind how you own an account,” Warnick said. “There are no exceptions or some kind of loophole about the system.”

What type of phone number can I use?

Blizzard said Battle.net notifications, as part of SMS Protect, are only for “text messaging-enabled mobile phones”. This means that messaging apps such as WhatsApp or iMessage from Apple cannot be used. Likewise, (some) prepaid phones will not work, nor will VoIP numbers (which use IP networks to make calls or send texts). Similarly, a landline phone number will not work either.

The phone number can only be used once; Players cannot have multiple accounts linked to one number.

Can I get a refund if I can’t add my phone number?

Blizzard support rose red $39.99 the player spent on Overwatch 2 Watchpoint bundle, After this player contacted Blizzard customer support and indicated that they do not have a mobile phone that meets the requirements of SMS Protect. But this is only one case. We’ve reached out to Blizzard for more information about their refund policy Note and watchAnd the Monitor 2 SMS Protect is compatible.

Where do I add my phone number?

On your Battle.net account page, you’ll need to head to account details On the sidebar, just below the account overview. The third box down is where you enter your number. You can do this by clicking Add phone number. Blizzard will send a verification number to the phone attached to your number. Enter it in the box and you should be good to go.

If you change your phone number, you will be able to edit it here later as well.

Can I still have multiple accounts?

Definitely – if they are associated with individual phone numbers connected to an active mobile phone.

Does this actually improve security?

Blizzard said these phone notifications will be used to agree to a password reset – which means someone else won’t be able to change your password without the notification code they’ll send to your mobile phone. Blizzard said it will also send you a text if your account was closed after a “suspicious login attempt,” or if your password or security features were changed.

Leave a Comment